All Kinds of Drama

Rehearsals for Earnest have been going well. I have all of about 15 lines in the show and half of them are “Yes, sir.” It wasn’t difficult to memorize them. I play a proper English bulter in the 1890s. I am struggling to find a way to give this droll, boring character a little depth. I also get to move scenery in between acts. The way I look at it, I’m gaining experience in the theatre. The cast seems like a fun group. In the last show, I knew more than half of the cast when we started. In this show, I didn’t know anyone.

On Tuesday night, I auditioned for Whose Wives Are They Anyway at Waukesha Civic Theatre. Both of the major characters were in my age range and I thought maybe I had a shot. Unfortunately, the director decided to take the easy way out and cast the tall, good looking guys with great hair in those parts. I pictured the character of John as a short, balding, middle-aged man. Oh, well. It was a learning experience. Hopefully, I’ll do better next time.

