A Date with a Princess


Father Daughter Dance

Last night, Erin and I went to the Girl Scout Father Daughter Dance. This was our third year and we had a great time. When we got there, we had our picture taken twice. Once for the picture package that will be sent later and once for the instant keychain picture that they print up there. Erin and I now each have a keychain commemorating the event.

After pictures, we spent the rest of the night alternating between dancing for three or four song and resting by getting a snack and juice. The highlight for me was slow dancing with my princess. Three of the slow dances that I remember were “Butterfly Kisses”, “What a Wonderful World”, and “Unchained Melody”.

The DJ definitely had a wide variety of songs that he played. On top of most of the current bubble gum kids pop songs, he also played (and we danced to) “Thriller”, “Stayin’ Alive”, and the ever popular “Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy”. It’s really hard to imagine dancing to songs like that with your innocent, little girl.

I am always amazed at this event. Most of the dads stand in the cafeteria or along the back wall of the gym and talk while there daughters run around together. It’s like high school all over, boys on one side of the gym and girls on the other. In contrast, Erin and I spent the entire night together. At one point, one of the dads that I know came over to talk and after about 2 minutes, Erin asked if we could go out and dance again. I thanked her for her quick thinking when we got on the dance floor.

