Weekend Round-up

We had a busy theatre-related weekend. “Lemme splain! No, there is too much. Lemme sum up.”

Friday…
This was opening night for Rusty Charlie and the gang over at Guys and Dolls, Jr. My wife, daughter, brother-in-law, and sister-in-law saw the show. They all enjoyed themselves very much. While they were there, the Earnest cast had costume parade. The crew needed to see the cast in their costumes under the lights. My costume consists of a tux with tails and gray/silver vest. It makes me look almost respectable. All of the costumes were great. Sharon is doing a wonderful job as always. Afterwards, some of us went to La Estacion for dinner. The food was great as was the conversation. Half of the folks went out after, but I had to get home before I turned into a pumpkin. I actually made it home before the rest of the family.

Saturday…
The Earnest folks had tech rehearsal from 10 am to 4 pm. That went pretty well. I am really starting to enjoy this show. I know that there are others (that will remain nameless) that think that your time and money would be better spent elsewhere, but I don’t. Yes, the language is a little formal, and yes, the humor is a little dated (1890s), and yes, it is Oscar Wilde. But, I think it will be a very entertaining show. In the evening, I was able to catch the performance of Guys and Dolls, Jr. It was very good. The kids are really putting it all out there.

Sunday…
After a morning filled with church, A.J. and I returned to Oconomowoc for the afternoon show. I got to be a stage parent work back stage on crowd control. Things didn’t go quite as well with that show as the previous two. The kids didn’t seem to have as much energy (it was really hot in the green room) and things got a little sloppy. In the evening, we went out for a family walk and didn’t do anything theatre related for the rest of the night.

6 Responses to “Weekend Round-up”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???
    Where are the pictures???

  2. Kurt Says:

    I was halfway home last night (about 15 minutes from the theatre) when I looked over at the passenger seat of the Jeep and said f**k, f**k, f**k. I left my camera sitting on the counter in the men’s dressing room at the theatre and wasn’t about to go back for it (I did consider the possibility for about 2 seconds). I tried uploading them via mental telepathy but I’m weak-minded so it didn’t work very well. Sorry. I’ll upload them by tomorrow morning.

  3. Nikki Says:

    Bum.
    Well, you can take more photos tonight then! I was hoping for one of Corey and I doing something, shall we say, laughable? :)
    I can’t believe you took over 200 photos last night. Did I really hear you right?

  4. Kurt Says:

    After I remove bad pics (blurry, too dark, too light, etc) and duplicates, it’ll probably be closer to 150. Unfortunately, out all of those, I am fairly confident that you are not in any of them. Not because, I didn’t want to take any of you. Mostly because, when you were on stage, I was too. :( There are, however, lots of pictures of Ruth, Jenny, Karen, Will, and Jason.

  5. Nikki Says:

    Aww… Yeah, I kind of figured I wouldn’t be in them for that reason. Which is partly why I think you should take candids tonight. The bunch of us freaks clowning around would make for some cute photos. And I’m sure someone could take some of you, I mean I think that’s only fair. You take hundreds of pics of the cast, someone should take some of you!

  6. Ruth Says:

    those pics that professional fella took tonight better be pretty darn good to make me want to pay $20 for ’em when i can see your awesome hundreds of pics online for free! i looked at two of yours over sharon’s shoulder tonight and they looked super cool :D good eye, KM ;)

Comments are closed.


