What happened to my lines????

I have mentioned before that, while I workout at lunch, I also have the opportunity to watch TV to take my mind off of how much my legs hurt (or how much I’m sweating). Today, just as I was starting out, the 1952 version of The Importance of Being Earnest began on TCM. I was able to watch the first 30 minutes of the movie. I stopped watching at the point where the first act in the play ends. Although they moved much of the dialogue around and added a scene at Earnest’s apartment (with dialogue from Algernon’s house in the play), most of the first act remained intact. What was missing? Most of Lane’s good lines were gone. With the exception of the “Cucumber” lines in the middle of the act, all he did was introduce guests and say “Yes, sir” a lot.

2 Responses to “What happened to my lines????”

  1. Nikki Says:

    First you lose your name, and now your lines??
    Geez, you’re careless!

    :P

  2. Ruth Says:

    I’d like to see how that version goes some day. I have to say I was pretty disappointed with the little bit I saw in comparison to our cast– how is it that we seem to be having SOOOOO much more fun than they did? Aren’t they supposed to be professionals?!

Comments are closed.


