Safe Travels, Mr. Huss

William Sheridan Huss, Jr. passed away in Appleton last Wednesday. I went to his funeral today. “Sherry” was my first Scoutmaster in Boys Scouts and he was very influential in my becoming an Eagle Scout. He was a brother Master Mason and he participated as the installing Worshipful Master for all three of my Masonic degrees. Most of all he was a mentor and a friend.

I haven’t seen Mr. Huss for at least three years and before that I only saw him once every couple of years for the past fifteen years or so. We were well acquainted, however, from 1976 to 1985. When I joined Boy Scouts, he was the Scoutmaster of Troop 12 in Appleton. While I was in Boy Scouts, we had four different Scoutmasters, one of which was my father, but in my mind, Mr. Huss will always be the Scoutmaster of Troop 12. He was a patient, kind, and knowledgeable man that had the temperament for teaching his scouts about nature, citizenship, life, and many other things.

He had a knack for teaching you multiple things at the same time without you realizing it. I remember one night when he sat at the dining room table in our kitchen discussing Astronomy Merit Badge with me and teaching me how to memorize information. It was his memorization and recitation of stories like The Cremation of Sam McGee the induced me to emulate his style when I was a Cub Scout Leader.

Mr. Huss, you impacted many people throughout your life. You will be truly missed.

2 Responses to “Safe Travels, Mr. Huss”

  1. dasportsguy Says:

    It’s always tough when someone who had a big impact in our life leaves us. I’m truly sorry for your loss. As a mentor he continues to live on through you and the others he’s touched. While I never met “Sherry”, he had an impact on the fine person you are today, so I owe him my thanks.

  2. Nicole Says:

    Awww, I’m sorry Kurt. Truly, I’m sorry for your loss.

    I never knew you were a Mason. What other interesting stuff do I not know? :)

    Have a nice weekend…

Comments are closed.


