The Deathly Hallows

A.J. and I started to read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows on Saturday. Back in 2002, when Kristi and I would still read to A.J. before bed, I started reading the Harry Potter series to him before bed. Even though he could probably chew through this book in about a day and half by himself, he still lets me read each new book of the series to him in the evenings after work. Because of that, we end up only getting through a chapter or two each day. So far, we have made to chapter 6 or 7. At this rate, it will take about 2 to 3 weeks to complete.

I have to say this book is phenomenal so far. I was a really big fan of the first three books. After that, the writing style changed. In books 4 thru 6, things that used to be describe in a sentence or two took several paragraphs to cover. It was like reading a screenplay. This last book is very detailed too but everything so exciting that you don’t notice. When I used to read to A.J., I would make sure each character’s voice sounded different and I tried to read dramatically. This book has me on the edge of my seat. I am tending to read it really fast and sometimes I stutter through lines. I am not doing a very good job with voices at all. A.J. is so engrossed in the book that he doesn’t mind that I am messing up. I can only assume that the book will continue excite right through to the end.

