First Chair Again

Last week, A.J. had his second (and final) chair placement test for the year. For second semester in a row he earned the coveted first chair position in the trumpet section of his sixth grade band. I am very proud of this accomplishment. I took cornet lessons for a brief period when I was is sixth grade and I did not do so well. I gave up before the first year was up. Maybe it was my lack of practice but I thought it was very difficult to master the brass instruments.

We are halfway through A.J.’s second year and he puts a great deal of effort into learning to play the trumpet. He finds the time to practice nearly every day. In fact, on Sunday, he went in to practice without being asked or reminded. I wish him continued success with this and hope that he continues to play for many years to come.

