The Boys Next Door

Last night, I saw The Boys Next Door at Sunset Playhouse. I mainly went to see my friends, Mario Alberts, Mark Neufang, and Patti Anne Hachmeister and support them in there show. Kristi and I have each seen a couple productions at Sunset lately and have not been altogether impressed with the shows we have seen. This show, however, was phenomenal. I could not believe how much I truly enjoyed it. The story revolves around four mentality handicapped men who live in an apartment together and their disenchanted social worker.

The story was excellent and the script amazing. It really drew me into the lives of these people. But what impressed me even more were the superb performances by all of the actors. It is very hard not to present a caricature when playing someone with a disability. The actors and actresses in this show obviously did a lot of research on this. Had I not known several of them, I would have thought they were really disabled.

It was very sad that this excellent show played to a house that was not even half full on a Saturday night. Part of that can unfortunately be attributed to the wonderful weather last night. The show runs until June 14th. If you have the chance, get out and see this wonderful show. Kudos to the director, Mark Salentine, and the entire cast. For this show at least, “Entertainment begins at Sunset!”

