Shadowlands, The Movie

Kristi found the VHS version of the Shadowlands movie at the Menomonee Falls Public Library the other day. I watched it yesterday and I have to say that I really wasn’t impressed. It stars Sir Anthony Hopkins as C.S. Lewis and Debra Winger as Joy Gresham. It is my impression from everything that I have read and heard that Joy and Lewis were nearly intellectual equals. I don’t know if it was the Brooklyn accent that Winger was using or the way she carried herself, but she didn’t come across as being very smart at all. Several of her lines and the way she presented them almost made her seem jealous of his intellect.

Additionally, there were a lot of humorous moments between Lewis and his brother that were played very flat. I got about halfway through the movie and I had to convince myself to keep watching. I know that this is a drama and a sad movie at that, but even the upbeat parts of the movie were downright depressing. I really only finished watching the movie to be able compare the entire movie to the play.

I know that our little community theatre production of Shadowlands at Acacia Theatre Company can’t compare to big budget film by Sony Pictures. I have to say that Michael and Mo seemed to give Lewis and Gresham more depth than I saw on the screen. I am sure that part of this critique is personal bias but I can truly say that if I hadn’t been in the show, I would not have finished the movie.

