The Chronicles of Narnia – Prince Caspian

Yesterday, as a family, we went to see the new Narnia movie, Prince Caspian. I can truly say that I was as impressed with this one as I was with the first one. It was absolutely amazing. It has been a while since I read the book, so I am not sure how close it is to the actual story. I do know that Douglas Gresham, the stepson of C.S. Lewis, was the co-producer of both this movie and the first one and I believe he is doing all he can to ensure that the movies stay fairly true to the original books.

The scenery was amazingly beautiful. The actors did an exceptional job. It was just enjoyable to watch. I’m sure that all the young girls will think that Prince Caspian (Ben Barnes) is just dreamy. Personally, I think that the girl that plays Susan Pevensie, Anna Popplewell, is very pretty and should get as much admiration from the young men in the audience. The movie is two and half hours long and some may think it a bit too long but it didn’t drag a bit during that entire time. Just make sure you don’t drink all of your “Large” soda too early into the movie… I’m just sayin’.

I will talk about specifics below the cut.

It was interesting to me that the Telmarines seemed to appear like of swarthy Mediterranean descent. Not that it was bad but it was an interesting choice.

Also, the battle scenes were very well done. I appreciate that they didn’t make them all bloody and gory. I’m sure some will say that they weren’t realistic because of that but action was so well done that I don’t think it was necessary.

The scene where Caspian was tempted by Jadis (The White Witch) was very interesting. I don’t recall that being in the book but I may be mistaken. It was a very intense scene.

One Response to “The Chronicles of Narnia – Prince Caspian”

  1. patrick Says:

    the makers of Prince Caspian kept to the original story surprisingly well… i heard they were going to make it into a silly pure-action flick, but thankfully this was not the case

Comments are closed.


