My Dad in his Glory Days

In the summer of 1958, my dad started a waterski club in Three Lakes, Wisconsin. It was called the Aqua Devils. For several years, he was the president of the club as well as a waterski instructor. The picture is of him as in participating in the clown portion of the weekly waterski show. He became very active in tournament waterskiing in the state. Initially, he competed in many different events, later he judged. Ultimately, he became the president of state waterskiing governing body, the Wisconsin Water Ski Federation, in the early 1960s.

Later this month, on July 26th, the Aqua Devils will be celebrating their 50th anniversary. They have not been an active club for that entire time, but it has been around most of that time. I am very proud that my dad started an organization that has been around that long.

I have many wonderful childhood memories of waterskiing with dad. I learned to ski when I was seven years old. I don’t ski much any more and he doesn’t at all. Maybe later this summer, I’ll get up on the skis again and remember those days spent in the water behind the Goon Buggy!

