Conversation – Day One

By their nature, blogs are extremely one-sided. For almost two years, I have been posting items about the interesting things that my family and I have been involved in. Occasionally, someone will post a comment or two with words of encouragement or agreement. But for the most part, this has been a one way conversation. I’d like to try an experiment to see if I’ve been shouting against the wind for two years.

For the next couple of weeks, I’m going to post everyday with a different topic of discussion. Some examples are: favorite music, hobbies, things that I’m (You’re) proud of, things that make me (you) angry, etc. I encourage you to respond in the comment section of the entry with your views on the topic of the day. Commenting requires your name (it doesn’t have to be your real name) and your e-mail address and, obviously, a comment. The e-mail address is only required to block spam comments. I promise I won’t put you on any mailing lists. For my Facebook friends, these entries are automatically cross-posted to my Facebook account. Please navigate to the original WordPress entry before posting a comment. That way all of the comments are in one place.

So let’s get this started. The first topic is hobbies.

  • It is fairly apparent from most of the posts in this blog that my favorite hobby is acting in community theatre. I have been involved in theatre for about two years and I miss it when A.J. or I are between shows.
  • I also enjoy camping; especially with my family. We haven’t been on a family camping trip in a couple years but we have a great time when we go.
  • A hobby of sorts for me right now is playing piano. I started taking piano lessons about a year ago and practicing after work really helps me unwind.
  • A few years ago, I was really into Rock Climbing. I haven’t done it for a while but I would like to do it again soon.
  • A hobby that I haven’t done for almost nine years but hope to get back to is brewing beer. For about ten years, I brewed two to four batches of beer a year; mostly ales and porters.
  • OK, now it is your turn. Tell me about your hobbies. Let’s have a conversation.

    3 Responses to “Conversation – Day One”

    1. behnnie Says:

      I guess I’d say that my primary hobby is acting, but that’s a little misleading the more I think about it because that statement implies I have other additional hobbies. Sadly: I don’t. :(

      I used to; don’t know what happened to me…

      I used to write quite a bit; now I’m lucky to blog once a week!

      Several years ago I went kayaking and loved it so I went a few more times and hoped it’d become a hobby, but it was a tricky one for me to pursue because I had no kayak of my own and no money to rent one and few places to hit good water anyhow. Ooh but it was so much fun it’d be worth the hassles of trying to get a pricey rented boat onto my car and out to some good water!

    2. Kurt Says:

      I went on a couple sea kayak trips with some friends a few years ago. One of my friends actually built his own wooden kayak from a kit after that. I agree, it is very expensive, the kayaks are difficult to transport, and the good locations are not very close.

    3. dasportsguy Says:

      Hobby : a pursuit outside one’s regular occupation engaged in especially for relaxation.

      Boy, I sure could go for one of those!

      Unfortunately, hobbies require time. That seems to be something in very short supply these days. I love writing in my blog, but as you can see by the number of posts lately, I don’t get to that much. If I’m lucky I brew beer once a year. If I’m really lucky I get 2 batches in. Sometimes I get a chance to read before going to bed. Mostly I enjoy following sports because I can do that in bits and pieces without thinking too much.

      I’d love to get into biking some trails with the kids as they get older. But, I need to teach them how to ride a bike first :)

    Comments are closed.


