Conversation – Day Four

Okay….. A little too touchy feely on the pride thing. So let’s try something not so close to the heart. How about favorite movies?

  • North By Northwest: Alfred Hitchcock and Cary Grant. I love most of the Hitchcock movies and Cary Grant is one of my all-time favorite actors. It is such an intense movie.
  • Shag, The Movie: Every time I watch this movie, I remember what it felt like to live in coastal North Carolina when I was in the Marine Corps.
  • Bell, Book, and Candle: Kim Novak and Jimmy Stewart. In college, Kristi and I saw this in some guy’s garage that he had converted into a movie theater. He even sold popcorn and candy. It wasn’t as weird as it sounds.
  • Tomb Raider: I know, I know… it’s all about Angelina Jolie in skimpy outfits. But, come on… sometimes you have to enjoy the eye candy.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia – The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe: The special effects and battle scenes are almost as good as in LoTR but without the Orcs. I also like Prince Caspian as well sometimes even better.
  • The American President: It is a total chick flick but it is also the starting point for the TV series The West Wing. I really like Michael Douglas in this. I also like him a lot in The Game.
  • Office Space: This is a classic for anyone that works in a cubicle; especially an IT professional like me. I almost fell off my chair the first time I saw the “paper jam” scene. So many of the situations in this movie have been paralleled in my own work experiences.
  • What are your favorite movies?

    One Response to “Conversation – Day Four”

    1. dasportsguy Says:

      Favorite movies, eh? Let’s see, there are a bunch but I leave out North By Northwest and Office Space since you stol them on me. But, it does make it easier to come up with a shorter list :)

      * Casablanca – I can still watch this movie today and it doesn’t seem like an old campy movie with over the top acting. But, I kind of like the whole reluctant hero thing and Bogart plays it well.

      * The Last Samurai – Ken Watanabe portrays the wise samurai well and Tom Cruise does an excellent job.

      * Unforgiven – The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly used to be my favorite western until Clint did this one. More reluctant hero stuff I guess, but that wastrue of most of Clint’s westerns.

      * Lord of the Rings : Fellowship of the Ring – The other 2 are pretty darn good too, but this one sets the tone. I didn’t think the books could ever be done justice on the big screen but Peter Jackson managed to pull it off

      * Caddyshack & the Matrix – Odd combination, but these 2 movies are ones that I loved the first time I saw them and will stop what I’m doing to watch them again.

    Comments are closed.


