Conversation – Day Six

Wow! Who knew anger was so popular. According to my WordPress stats, I have had more views today than on any other single day since I started this blog. And as a plus, I have had more comments today as well. Even though it seems like controversial topics are more popular, I think today we should talk about all-time favorite TV shows. Prior to having kids, watching TV was the thing I did the most outside of work. That sure is a sad statement on my early adult years. Anyway, because of that, some of my picks are going to be several years old.

  • Star Trek: The Next Generation: I have always been a big Sci-Fi fan and this was my favorite of all the Sci-Fi shows. This series began just after I entered the Marine Corps and I remember that a bunch of us new Lieutenants huddled around a small TV in one of our rooms and watched the very first episode. We were amazed that they had a Klingon on the crew and a woman as the head of security. Over the years, it got better and better. None of the Star Trek series that followed were ever as good to me.
  • The Amazing Race: Kristi and I have really enjoyed watching this over the last few years. It is the only reality show that I can stand. I love to see the places that they visit and it is wildly funny to watch how the teams break down so quickly when their stress levels rise.
  • Firefly: I know this is only a couple years old and only lasted for a short time but it was very entertaining. It is a cross between Sci-Fi space drama and Gunsmoke-style western. The characters are so well done. The love/hate relationship that plays out between many of the characters really draws you in.
  • Remington Steele: This was the first major venue for Pierce Brosnan and he was so good in it. It had a delightful cast and the storylines were always good.
  • The Bob Newhart Show and Newhart: Both shows were amazingly funny. Bob has that deadpan humor that is so funny. I can still quote lines from many of the episodes.
  • M*A*S*H, Happy Days, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Cheers, Wings, and Family Ties: These are all shows from my youth or early adult years that I really enjoyed. I was a tremendous fan of the half-hour sitcom. I couldn’t get enough of them.
  • So what are your favorite all-time TV shows?

