A Christmas Carol

On Wednesday, we went to see the “Family Preview” of A Christmas Carol at the Pabst Theater. We were very lucky and had seats in the fourth row on the first level. In fact, I was in the seat in the exact center of that row. As I have mentioned before, this was my first time seeing this show at The Rep. I just have to say that the show was amazing. All of the actors did such a phenomenal job that I really felt like I was in England in the 1840s and not in a theatre in downtown Milwaukee. When the first act was over, I was surprised at how quickly it had gone. I was just riveted by everything I saw.

The thing that amazed me the most, outside the total enjoyment of the show, was the efficiency of the scene changes. The Pabst Theater is the first theater that either A.J. or I has worked in that has a “Fly System”. Many of the set pieces are attached to ropes and raised and lowered into place during the scene changes. At the same time, the entire cast is singing a traditional English Christmas Carol while moving in and out smaller pieces like desks, tables, or stoves. The effect is wonderful to watch. The settings change before your eyes without some annoying blackout where stagehands scurry around in the dark.

I am so glad that A.J. got the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful show. This is truly one of the jewels of the Milwaukee theatre scene. I hope that it lives on for many years to come. I plan to see it at least once more this year and we have added it to the list of family traditions for Christmases yet to come. “God Bless Us, Everyone!”

