Wahoo!

I must have been born under a lucky star. Near the end of January, I posted an entry about how I had auditioned for a couple of shows but was, unfortunately, not cast in either of them. This past weekend, I started to look at the upcoming audition schedule and realized that there was only one show left this season that I was interested in auditioning for and that wasn’t until mid-March. I also realized that many people would be auditioning for that same show as it is a fairly popular work and very funny. Due to the extreme competition, I was looking at the prospect of possibly not doing any theatre for the entire season.

On Monday morning, however, my luck changed for the better. I received an email from the director of Don’t Dress for Dinner at Waukesha Civic Theatre indicating that one of the actors had to drop out of the show and asked if I would be willing to step into the part. Wahoo!!! This was one of the two shows I had auditioned for in January. I will be playing Robert and am blessed to able to join an incredible cast: Mark Neufang, Donna Daniels, Ruth Arnell, Chelsey Peterson, and Scott Fudali.

After the euphoria wore off, I realized what I am in for. I joined the cast a week after they started rehearsing and nearly three weeks after they received their scripts. In addition, this is the first time I will be appearing on stage as something other than a character actor. Man, there are a lot of lines to learn. Yikes.

For those interested, here is a modified version of the synopsis that is provided by the publishing company.

Bernard is planning a weekend with his chic New York mistress in a New England farmhouse. He has arranged for a cordon bleu cook to prepare gourmet delights, is packing his wife, Jacqueline, off to her mother’s, and has even invited his best friend to provide the alibi. It’s foolproof; what could possibly go wrong? Suppose Robert turns up not knowing why he has been invited? Suppose Robert and Jacqueline are secret lovers? What happens if the cook is mistaken for the mistress and the mistress is unable to cook? An evening of hilarious confusion ensues as Bernard and Robert improvise at breakneck speed.

More details to follow.

3 Responses to “Wahoo!”

  1. behnnie Says:

    If you’re talking about the mid-March show I think you’re talking about– yeah. Competition is going to be pretty stiff on that one. Everyone I’ve spoken to who does comedy in the area and is available during that show’s run is auditioning. I think we’re going to see a lot of really talented people very disappointed after those auds are over and they find they weren’t cast. :S

    • Kurt Says:

      Yes, I am referring to “Noises Off” at Sunset. All the cool people want to be in that show, so I think it is going to be very, very difficult to get a part.

      BTW, WordPress now has comment threading. Yay!

      • behnnie Says:

        Hooray comment threading! Isn’t it amazing how quickly you get used to certain internet standards and how much you miss them when they’re not available?

        As for “NO!”– I think “difficult” doesn’t even begin to cover it. I wouldn’t be surprised if the cast was at *least* half filled with folks most of us don’t even know because they’ve come from farther around to get involved. It’s just such a great show, and so few theatres in the area have spaces that can accommodate its scope effectively. Everybody’s space is just too darn small and low-ceilinged.

Comments are closed.


