Milwaukee’s Live Theater

Milwaukee's Live Theater

Last week, I received a book that I had pre-ordered back in January. It’s called Milwaukee’s Live Theater and it is by local author, Jonathan West. The book is a photo compilation and is part of the Images of America series. Jonathan is a local actor, director, author, and now the Managing Director of Sunset Playhouse. I was first introduced to Jonathan’s writing via his blogging for MKE magazine almost two years ago. When that magazine went out of business, he moved his blog to its own site, Artsy Schmartsy. Jonathan is a vocal proponent of the arts in Milwaukee. So, it was no surprise when he was chosen to head up the compilation of photographs that describe the history of live theatre in Milwaukee.

I haven’t completely finished the book yet but I love what I have read so far. I am learning so much about the history of theatre in our area. While I enjoy looking at all of the pictures, the narrative that accompanies the photos is very well done and informative. I have to admit, the first thing I did after getting the book was to page through it to see if it contained pictures of anyone I knew personally. I was pleasantly surprised that I could identify at least two people that I have worked with in a show. If you are a live theatre enthusiast in the Milwaukee area, you should pick up a copy.

