WCT Gala

Friday night was the annual fundraising gala for Waukesha Civic Theatre at Weissgerber’s Golden Mast Inn in Okauchee. As I can’t afford to attend the dinner as guest, I offered my services as a volunteer instead. I ended up being the event photographer for the evening. I got to walk around and take pictures of everyone having a good time. And I have to admit that I had fairly good time too.

WCT has a pretty loyal group of donors and patrons. Even though we are currently going through some tough economic times, the generosity that was displayed was overwhelming. There was a silent auction prior to dinner and live auction after dinner. Both of which seemed to raise quite a bit of money for the theatre. That was followed by some amazing singing and dancing by several WCT entertainers. The hit number of the evening was Mark Neufang performing “Mack the Knife.” Some of the ladies in the audience put up some fairly decent wolf whistles during his performance. Corey Richards and Patty Neuhoff also performed a number from next month’s upcoming musical, 42nd Street, which was very impressive. Personally, I was amazed at the wonderful singing voice of Julie McHale, the theatre reviewer from the Waukesha Freeman. The evening was concluded with music and dancing to the tunes of the Brew City Big Band.

One Response to “WCT Gala”

  1. Christine Howard Turowski Says:

    I couldn’t agree more with Kurt! What an amazing event- People were dressed in stunning Black and White attire. I can’t wait to see the pictures posted on the WCT website…
    Thanks for the great job Kurt! And Thanks to all the volunteers who were amazing and the attendees who were so generous…
    A night to remember…

Comments are closed.


