Marlene A. Magoon – 1937-2009

Marlene Magoon

My mom, Marlene A. Magoon, passed away on Wednesday. She was a wonderful wife, mom, and grandma and she will be missed by many. She shaped the lives of my sisters and me in ways that cannot be described. She pushed me to do well in school and in scouting. I don’t know if it was because I was her baby or maybe because I was a bit of a mama’s boy, but she and I shared a special bond for a long time. When was in the Marine Corps, she and I would have long talks on the telephone (which I’m sure didn’t please my Dad when the phone bill arrived).

Mom was always a fighter and she battled many medical issues throughout her life. She survived quadruple bypass open heart surgery at 37 and an angioplasty at 47. She conquered cervical cancer just after I was born and breast cancer later in life. About five years ago, she suffered a stroke that left her wheelchair-bound, but even that didn’t slow her down much. Although her mind and will continued to remain strong, her body just couldn’t keep up. She fell and broke her hip on Sunday and she body couldn’t recover from the trauma of hip surgery.

I will never forget the fun we had playing scrabble, yahtzee, or solitaire long into the night. Nor will I forget the artistic passion that she had when it came to flower arranging and decorating our home. Because she was a full-time stay-at-home Mom, she was always there for us. She did more for us kids than we will ever know. And when it came to doting on her grandchildren, she was the best. She had great love for all of us.

Goodbye, Mom. I Love You!

2 Responses to “Marlene A. Magoon – 1937-2009”

  1. Jeff Stanlick Says:

    Then she continues to live on through your wonderful memories of her. My prayers and sympathies are with you, your father and the rest of your family during these trying times.

  2. kristi Says:

    I only hope that AJ and I continue to have half the relationship you had with your mom….

Comments are closed.


