And Then There Were None… Again

And Then There Were None opens on Friday at Waukesha Civic Theatre. I’ve been so busy lately that I hadn’t realized that I hadn’t posted an entry about it yet. As you may remember I appeared in this show in September, 2007 when the Village Playhouse of Wauwatosa and the Brookfield Players staged it. At that time, I played Rogers, the butler. I love murder mysteries and I liked that show so much that I suggested the show to the WCT Play Advisory Committee last year. It was recommended by them and approved by the board of directors and it found its way into the current season.

Hoping to try my hand at a different role, I auditioned for the show but, alas, I must possess those quintessential butler traits. I am again playing Rogers. I must admit that learning lines is much easier when all you are doing is refreshing them in your memory. On the other hand, it is harder to give the role a different look as you tend to fall back into old habits.

I am lucky to have the opportunity to work with a few people that I have never worked with before, many of them veterans of Soulstice Theatre. I am also pleased to able to work with three individuals that I worked with on the first show I ever appeared in, Arsenic and Old Lace. Hopefully, I’ve grown as an actor since then. One of my cast-mates, Jenny Kosek, and I have appeared on stage in three separate shows now. I’m sure that Jenny is getting sick of doing shows with me. I really enjoy working with her; she is such a fine actress.

I am again privileged to have Mark E. Schuster as my director for the second show in a row. Mark can add to the dubious honor of being my only male director to being my only repeat director. He obviously has a larger threshold of pain than many others. Kidding aside, he is great to work for and makes the rehearsal process as enjoyable as it can be.

Please come out and see the show if you have a chance. It runs October 23rd to November 8th. Check out this great cast:

  • Justice Lawrence Wargrave: Scott Allen
  • Vera Claythorne: Kelly Simon
  • Philip Lombard: Andrew Lien
  • Dr. Edward Armstrong: Joel Marinan
  • William Blore: Michael Endter
  • Emily Brent: Mina Miller
  • Thomas Rogers: Kurt Magoon
  • General John Mackenzie: Jim Volden
  • Ethel Rogers: Jenny Kosek
  • Anthony Marston: Kyle Konetzke
  • Fred Narracott: Jeffrey Berens
  • Advertisements

