Dork On Wheels

Lately, I’ve realized that I need to find something to help me get into better shape. Well, I guess pear-shaped is technically a shape but not the one I want to be in. So, I decided to try inline skating again. Again??? Lemme splain… There is too much, lemme sum up!

About 16 or 17 years ago, when we lived in Rochester Hills, Michigan, Kristi and I took an inline skating class from the local parks and rec department. To say it was an utter disaster would be somewhat of an understatement. Class consisted of us skating around a parking lot for about a half hour learning how to fall, use the skate break, and make wide turns. This was followed quickly by a long trip on the road to a local park and back. If you recall from earlier, this was in Rochester “Hills”. A half hour practice is not nearly enough time for a true beginner to be ready for HILLS. We fell down so many times that our “road rash” had “road rash”.

So, after a long drought, I decided to give this another shot. Over the last couple of weeks, I have purchased skates, pads, and a helmet. I have also read up on skate technique, specifically around braking. Finally, last night I took my stuff over to local elementary school parking lot to give this a shot. Okay… it wasn’t pretty but it was a start. I spent a half hour getting comfortable with my balance, working on breaking, and doing several laps around the “very flat” parking lot. As with everything, I’m sure it is going to take a great deal of practice to become good at this. Hopefully, it will help me get into shape as well.

And, for the record, I don’t think I was “flailing around” as badly as A.J. imagined I would.

