Welcome to a New Year

Yeah, yeah… I know it has been a while. Sites like Twitter and Facebook make it so easy to micro-blog your life that I haven’t put in the time necessary to update this blog. As of now, that is going to change. I’m not going to make some grand resolution to blog 20 to 30 times a month. This is for several reasons. First, I don’t think I can commit that amount of time. Also, I’m really not that clever and can’t come up with that much to say. And finally, this is something that I want to enjoy and not have it be a chore. It is my goal, however, to attempt to post something of significance every week. That gives me approximately 50 posts in a year.

And speaking of resolutions and goals, I have decided to not make any New Year’s Resolutions this year. I made 4 or 5 last year and wrote them in Elvish (one of the resolutions was to learn to write in Elvish… I know… I’m a geek) and posted them on the wall in the office in our house. They are still there (really) and I read through them on New Year’s Day. It took about 10 minutes to remember enough Elvish to pick my way through the resolutions. I realized that I broke most if not all of the resolutions by the end of January.

I have, however, decided to set some new goals for myself. These have coincidentally coincided with the beginning of the year but they are NOT resolutions. I am not going to publish them for the world to see. That seems to be the surest way for those goals to remain unfulfilled. Let’s just say that I hope to come out on the other side of these goals as a better person.

Okay… see ya next week… or maybe sooner if something really cool comes up.

