The Laramie Project

AJ and I went to see The Laramie Project at Marquette University this afternoon. We went as part of a group outing with our members of our church, First United Methodist in Waukesha. I have to say that we were completely blown away. I don’t think that I have ever been to a show that was that intense and has moved me as much as this one did.

In the wake of the brutal murder of Matthew Shepard in Laramie, Wyoming in 1998, a theatre group traveled to Laramie and conducted hundreds of interviews. The show is a combination of those interviews, news accounts of the day, and personal journal entries from the members of the group. It is an extremely powerful show that had me on the edge of my seat for nearly three hours.

The 15 young men and women in the cast performed more than sixty different roles and they were awesome. In many cases, you knew which role that each actor was playing by their mannerisms well before they began to speak. Although the entire cast was amazing, two individuals in particular were absolutely unbelievable. Alexandra Bonesho and Joe Picchetti gave stand-out performances in their various characters. Bonesho showed amazing range as she moved between the roles of Romaine Patterson and Reggie Fluty. I had tears running down my cheeks as Picchetti as Shephard’s father had tears running down his cheeks while delivering his statement at the murder trial.

The show runs through next weekend at the Helfaer Theatre at Marquette University. I can’t urge you strongly enough to go see this show.

