Father Daughter Dance 2011

Father Daughter Dance

In the four years that Erin was in Kindergarten through third grade, she was in Girl Scouts; Daisies and Brownies actually. The troop’s service unit puts on an annual Father Daughter Dance. It was always a highlight of my year to get to accompany her to the dance. As you may recall from an earlier post, Erin has re-joined Girls Scouts which has allowed us to put on our dancing shoes once again.

Last night, Erin and I attended the Father Daughter Dance and had a fantastic time. I am a strong believer that when a dad goes to one of these, he should spend all of his time with his daughter. And that is exactly what Erin and I did. I seem to remember us dancing a lot more in previous years. Maybe it’s because she was younger and smaller and dancing with her was more of an athletic event. This year, everything was perfect. We danced (most notably to Justin Bieber and Thriller), we talked, we had our picture taken, and we laughed at all the dads on their iPhones and Blackberries in the middle of the dance floor. It was a great time. The best part was right at the very end. The DJ played “Butterfly Kisses” and Erin and I had the best Father Daughter slow dance ever.

I know that she is growing up and will eventually go to college, get married, and have family of her own. But last night… she was my little girl and I wouldn’t have missed that for the world.

One Response to “Father Daughter Dance 2011”

  1. quisp Says:

    You’re a great dad!

Comments are closed.


