Washington, DC – Day 4

Arlington National Cemetery

Tuesday was our fourth day in the Washington area. Usually, starting out the day going to a cemetery would seem to be a bad thing but not in this case. We started the day by going to Arlington National Cemetery. We visited the graves of the Kennedys; JFK, Jackie, Robert, and Teddy. At The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, we got to see the changing of the guard twice and two wreath laying ceremonies. I got some great video of that and I will be posting it on YouTube when we get back.

In the afternoon, we toured the National Archives. We saw the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights. I was amazed to see how faded they have all become. I’m sure it didn’t help to have Nicholas Cage drag the Declaration all over Washington, Philadelphia, and New York just to find some dumb treasure… oh that’s right, that was just a movie. My 8th grade social studies teacher would have been proud as I was able to pick out “Article 1, Section 8, the 18 powers of Congress” in the Constitution rather quickly.

