Help the Arts!

I am very disappointed in my theatre friends. About a month ago, I issued a challenge to my friends, my family, and anyone that reads my blog. In short, I offered to match 30 $5 donations to the Waukesha Civic Theatre High Five Club with $150 of my own money. After a month, only three of my acquaintances have donated; one co-worker, and my aunt and uncle living in Florida.

What bothers me the most is that the “Give a High Five to the Arts!” idea was mine. Donations to the arts are down all over because of the rough economy. And I knew that many of my talented theatre friends don’t necessarily have the kinds of jobs that allow them to donate large sums to the theatre. But I do know that they are all very dedicated to the theatre and want to help however they can. I figured that for the cost a couple of cups of coffee from The Steaming Cup or a couple of glasses of wine at People’s Park, we could help keep our theatre in good shape.

So here’s the deal. I still believe that a small donation from a large number people can make a huge difference. I have already put in my $150 matching donation. I would love it if 27 other theatre-loving individuals dropped in $5 each. If you do, drop me an email to dramagoon at gmail dot com. I would love to send you a personal thank you.

*** Update, I missed a $10 donation from one of my theatre friends. Thanks, Wesley. That still leaves $125 to be matched. ***

