The Drowsy Chaperone

We just got back from going to see The Drowsy Chaperone at Sunset Playhouse and it was wonderful. If it isn’t apparent by now, I love live theatre. Like most people, comedies are my favorites. They are followed closely, however, by musicals. And I have to say that this is one of the best musicals that I have seen in a couple of years. The cast and crew did a super job and should be congratulated for giving us an amazing performance.

I’ll admit that this title, The Drowsy Chaperone, is not one that I have heard of before but I really enjoyed the story. The whole show takes place in the studio apartment of middle-aged man that is a fan of the 1920s Broadway musicals. The man, expertly played by Ben George, talks directly to the audience and tells us how he listens to records of old musicals when he is sad; his favorite being the 1929 classic, The Drowsy Chaperone. The show comes to life in his apartment as he describes the plot.

The large song and dance numbers were well choreographed and really had that big old-time musical feel. The tap number performed by Ryan Cappleman and Andy McCain was very well executed. It is awesome to see Ryan follow that scene up with a scene performed blindfolded on roller-skates. The singing performed by the entire cast was outstanding. Ellen Jenders, the ingénue, was perfect in her solo numbers. To be honest, I could probably name everyone in the cast because they were each fantastic in their own way.

The show runs through August 7th and you really need to see it. But don’t wait until the last weekend to see it. Their last weekend is the opening weekend for Willy Wonka at Waukesha Civic Theatre. And while I think that this show is one that you shouldn’t miss, I know in my heart that you are going to love our show just as much.

